Forty Rules of Love-Elife Shafak !!!

“The Forty Rules of Love” is a novel written by Elif Shafak, published in 2009. It is a compelling tale that weaves together two parallel storylines, one set in the 13th century and the other in the present day, exploring themes of love, spirituality, and self-discovery.

The novel follows the life of Ella Rubenstein, a middle-aged woman living in Massachusetts, who feels stuck in her monotonous life. She reluctantly takes on a job as a reader for a literary agency, where she comes across a manuscript titled “Sweet Blasphemy” written by Aziz Zahara. As Ella starts reading the manuscript, she becomes captivated by the story of the renowned poet Rumi and his relationship with the wandering dervish, Shams of Tabriz.

The story set in the 13th century follows the unlikely friendship between Rumi, a respected Islamic theologian, and Shams, a wandering mystic who challenges Rumi’s conventional beliefs and introduces him to the path of divine love. Shams teaches Rumi the forty rules of love, which are a guide to understanding and experiencing true love in its purest form. As Rumi’s beliefs and perceptions are transformed by Shams’ teachings, he embarks on a profound spiritual journey that ultimately leads him to become one of the greatest poets and mystics of all time.

As Ella delves deeper into the manuscript, she finds herself drawn to the mysticism and wisdom of Rumi and Shams’ story, and it triggers a personal transformation within her. She starts questioning her own beliefs about love, relationships, and spirituality and begins to reevaluate her own life choices. Along the way, she also finds herself drawn to Aziz Zahara, the author of the manuscript, and a budding romantic relationship ensues.

“The Forty Rules of Love” is a richly layered novel that explores the complexities of human emotions, the power of spiritual awakening, and the transformative nature of love. It delves into the philosophy of Sufism, a mystical Islamic belief system, and its teachings on love, compassion, and self-realization. Through Rumi and Shams’ story, the novel imparts timeless wisdom and offers profound insights into the nature of love, making it a thought-provoking and deeply moving read.

Elif Shafak’s novel “The Forty Rules of Love” books vital 40 rules of Love !!!

  1. How we see God is a direct reflection of how we see ourselves. If God brings to mind mostly fear and blame, it means there is too much fear and blame welled inside us.
  2. The path to the Truth is a labor of the heart, not of the head. Make your heart your primary guide.
  3. Life is a balance between holding on and letting go.
  4. Your task is not to seek for love, but merely to seek and find all the barriers within yourself that you have built against it.
  5. The only way to keep love alive is to let it change.
  6. Genuine love is not about perfection, it is hidden in flaws.
  7. The essence of true love is in surrendering to the divine will and letting go of control.
  8. Love is the strongest force in the universe, it can heal wounds and bring about profound transformation.
  9. The true measure of love is its ability to withstand tests and trials.
  10. Love transcends all boundaries of religion, culture, and society.
  11. True love is selfless, it does not seek personal gain or selfish motives.
  12. Love is not limited by time or space, it exists beyond the physical realm.
  13. Love is not possessive or jealous, it is free and liberating.
  14. Love is a journey of self-discovery, it helps us understand ourselves and others.
  15. Love requires courage, vulnerability, and trust.
  16. Love is not limited to romantic relationships, it can be found in all forms of connection.
  17. Love is a force that can bring about positive change in the world.
  18. Love is patient and kind, it does not seek to harm or hurt others.
  19. Love is a constant state of giving and receiving.
  20. Love does not discriminate, it embraces all beings with compassion.
  21. Love is a spiritual experience that transcends the material world.
  22. Love requires forgiveness and letting go of grudges.
  23. Love is a state of being, not just a fleeting emotion.
  24. Love is accepting others as they are, without judgment or criticism.
  25. Love is a celebration of diversity and uniqueness.
  26. Love is a journey of self-acceptance and self-love.
  27. Love is not possessive, it allows freedom and individuality.
  28. Love is a force that can heal past wounds and traumas.
  29. Love is a source of inner strength and resilience.
  30. Love is a source of inspiration and creativity.
  31. Love is a state of consciousness that connects us to the divine.
  32. Love is not limited by external circumstances, it is a state of being.
  33. Love is a mirror that reflects our true selves.
  34. Love is a path of self-realization and self-transformation.
  35. Love is a source of joy, happiness, and fulfillment.
  36. Love is an expression of gratitude and appreciation.
  37. Love is a state of surrender, letting go of control and ego.
  38. Love is a force that unites and brings people together.
  39. Love is a source of inner peace and contentment.
  40. Love is eternal, it transcends time, space, and existence.

These forty rules of love, as portrayed in Elif Shafak’s novel, offer insights and reflections on the nature of love, spirituality, and self-discovery, inspiring readers to explore the depths of their hearts and embrace the transformative power of love.

April 14, 2023

‚ÄčLeave a Comment